[2. Accommodation] 85 Days in South Korea for less than RM 6K

April 29, 2016 § Leave a comment

Accommodation

When it comes to traveling, accommodation is definitely the most expensive things you’ll have to pay for, especially if you’re planning to stay long or moving from one place to another. Ever since I knew the existence of Couchsurfing (CS) and other useful sites such as HelpeX, I spent less (more likely none) on my accommodation expenses. I used CS mostly when i’m visiting a place for a short stay and HelpX for my longterm stay.

HOW MUCH?

The total cost of my accommodation expenses came out to be RM 136.00, which is around USD $35.14 only! Yes, for 85 days, that’s seems impossible! 😛 I could actually save more but considering i’m traveling with my travel buddy while in Jeju Island, I decided to stay at hostel with her for the 2 nights we were together.

I only had to pay these 2 place for my accommodation while in South Korea:

  1. Jimjilbang (Sauna) & locker in Mokpo for 1 night = KRW 10,500.00 (~MYR 33.60)
  2. Hostel in Jeju Island for 2 nights = KRW 32,000.00 (MYR 102.40)

TOTAL ACCOMMODATION EXPENSES = ~MYR 136.00 (USD $35.14)

*KRW 1,000.00 equals roughly to MYR 3.20
**USD $1.00 equals roughly to MYR 3.87

COUCHSURFING (CS)

Couchsurfing helped me a lot interm of accommodation.

Couchsurfing (CS) – Your stay with hosts is free. Meet travelers in other cities, or in your own city! There’s always something new to join
More/Apply: httpsa//www.couchsurfing.com/

Who knew traveling could be so easy if you rely on strangers’ kindness.

It’s a great thing to experience local’s daily life I used it for:

  • Seoul – for 2 Nights – Stayed with a pretty University student. 
  • Cheonan for 2 Nights – Stayed with a young Korean couple. 
  • Jeonju for 2 Nights – Stayed with Seoulite working as Jeonju official.
  • Gyengju for 2 Nights – Stayed with an Australian professor married to Korean girl.
  • Jeju Island for 5 Nights – Stayed with an American English teacher at day & DJ at night.

*Due to their privacy, I won’t mention their names here. But if you would like to meet them personally on your visit to South Korea, let me know! I can ask them if they are available to host you. 😛

  • Seoul – Bridge Backpackers (http://www.bridgebackpackers.com/) – Knew about this place from CS. The owner, Greg Aussie guy married to korean girl offered me about the volunteering via message on CS.
JFWO5043

With my awesome host, Greg & his wife from Bridge Backpackers

*Feel free to ask me about it. I can recommend you to local there or teach you how to send request if you’re new to it. 🙂

HELPX/BACKPACKERS

If you’re tired of using CS and wanted to stay longer in one place for free, you could do some volunteering at the guesthouse/hostel. For my South Korean trip, I choose to use HelpX (www.helpx.net/). HelpX is an online listing of host organic farms, non-organic farms, farmstays, homestays, ranches, lodges, B&Bs, backpackers hostels and even sailing boats who invite volunteer helpers to stay with them short-term (minimum 2-3 weeks) in exchange for food and accommodation. It’s the same concept with Workaway (https://www.workaway.info/). invite volunteer helpers to stay with them short-term or long-term in exchange accommodation (minimum 1 month stay). In the typical arrangement, the helper works an average of 3 hours per day and receives free accommodation.

These are the guesthouse/hostel that I stayed in:

IMG_0352

View from my bed in Busan. 🙂

TEMPLE STAY

Some temples are offering free temple stay for foreigners to experience life living in a temple. Do check out their website from time to time for that. http://eng.templestay.com/

Thanks to the Buddha’s day (May 6th), I get to stay at the temple one night in Busan for free. It was a different and relaxing experience ever. I learned how to sit on my feet for a long period of time. 😛 

TRAVEL TIPS

Here’s are other website that you can try for your free accommodations.

1) GlobalFreeLoaders (www.globalfreeloaders.com/) – Same concepts as CS but not famous. 

2) Belodged (http://belodged.com/) – I never use but number of Korean use this.

*Bare in mind that this trip was exactly 2 years ago (March 2014 – June 2014) so prices might have changed over the period of time. Some of the things that I tried might as well discontinued, unavailable or closed.

(But if you found something better than what’s written here, do let me know! Would love to know about it!)*

myhc_11352

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading [2. Accommodation] 85 Days in South Korea for less than RM 6K at Wanderlust Overloaded.

meta

